How To Turn Off The Restricted Mode On TikTok – Explained

TikTok users are pouring complaints on Twitter saying their accounts are being restricted and it asks for some kind of code to get back to their normal account. If you are among these users, struggling to turn off the restricted mode, here is how to do it on TikTok.

TikTok has become an instant hit right after its launch in the year 2016. Over time it has amassed billions of users from every corner of the world. It has also introduced us to various talented actors, singers, artists, dancers, chefs, and comedians.

Nonetheless, with the number of users increasing the application has now become host to a variety of glitches. Currently, users are complaining about their app being turned to restricted mode without their knowledge. If you are among these users, here is everything you need to know about this technical issue.  

What Is The Restricted Mode On TikTok?

Alongside adults, TikTok and all social media platforms are being used by a huge number of Young children and adolescents. Although the community guidelines of most social media platforms restrict young users from using the platform, they still find a way to witness the content on the social platforms.

To keep the younger generation safe, social applications including TikTok have made several changes to the apps in order to make the platforms safer for young audiences.

The main feature of TikTok that copes with the content to make the platform a safer one is TikTok’s ‘restricted mode.’ As defined by the video-sharing app itself, “Restricted Mode is an option at the account settings level that limits the appearance of content that may not be appropriate for all audiences.”

This feature has restricted videos from several users and if you are an avid user of TikTok, you must have seen creators complaining about their content being restricted for no reason.

The restricted mode often conceals the content perceiving it to be inappropriate or dangerous for the audience. Thus, content creators often get no views on their snippets.

How To Fix Restricted Mode On TikTok?

Some users have recently complained about being kept on the restricted mode forcefully by the application. If you are among such users, all you need to do is, to turn off the feature from your account settings. If you are unable to do so, here is how to do it.

  • Launch your TikTok app and head towards the app settings option.
  • Under the app settings option you will find an option saying “Digital Wellbeing”, tap on it.
  • Next, you will be required to tap on the ‘Restricted mode’ to disable the option.
  • It will ask for a passcode that you initially used to enable the option, provide it to disable the mode.
  • Once you provide the pass code you will get back to your normal TikTok feed.

Although turning off the restricted mode is a matter of seconds, some users have complained that they haven’t actually enabled this option thus have no ideas about the passcode. To this concern, TikTok hasn’t provided any reply yet. However, users seem quite annoyed about this glitch.

Here are some of the notable reactions given by TikTok users on Twitter about the ongoing issue of forcefully enabling the restricted mode.

One user wrote, Hey why is my TikTok on restricted mode is there a glitch in the system I’m over 18 I might not look like it but I am !!!”

Another wrote, “So everyone on @tiktok_us is now in Restricted Mode and can’t access their accounts without a code! A code they didn’t create. This is normally reserved for Family Pairing accounts. What is up @TikTokSupport? Has there been a breach? Glitch? Hack?”

You may also want to read about TikTok’s New Guidelines

Bottom Line

This was all about what the restricted mode on TikTok is and how to turn it off on the platform. Hopefully, you have found all the information you were looking for.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.