WhatsApp Settings Scam – Is It Really A Scam?

If you are worried about your privacy after hearing about the WhatsApp Settings Scam then you don’t have to worry anymore. Because it isn’t a scam but just change of settings. Here is all you need to know.

Social media users are warning their fellows about the new privacy settings of WhatsApp. Users are rushing to check their privacy settings as according to them WhatsApp has secretly changed some privacy settings. Is it really something alarming? Do you really need to check your setting? Here’s the explanation.

What Is WhatsApp Settings Scam

Right after the viral controversy of WhatsApp facilitating data sharing with Facebook, a new notorious update has taken place on the platform without letting the users know. As soon as the users have noticed the update, they have taken it to various social media platforms to share it with their fellow users.

Here is a Tweet by a user named @Mobberley, “WhatsApp has recently changed its group settings to include “everyone” by default so people you don’t know can add you to a group without your knowing.  These people may include scam messages, loan Sharks, etc”.

To change the settings you have to follow the below steps:

  • Open your TikTok account
  • Tap on the Settings option
  • Tap on account
  • Head towards privacy section
  • Select the option “Groups”
  • Change your setting from Everyone to My Contacts only.

WhatsApp Group Settings Scam

To make aware about the sneak update, users are sharing a message on Facebook and various other social media platforms. If you haven’t received this message yet, then here it is:

 “WhatsApp has changed its group settings to include ‘everyone’ by default so people you don’t know can add you to a group without your knowing. These people may include scam messages, loan Sharks, etc.

You can change its default settings as follows: 1. Go to WhatsApp: 2. Into Settings 3. To Account 4. Go to Privacy 5. Go to Groups 6. Change from (Everyone) to (My Contacts) This is true. I have checked mine & all settings had been changed to everyone instead of my contacts.”

Now you might think that this is a recent update from WhatsApp but to your surprise, this setting has been there for so long. The group setting is set to “Everyone” since it was introduced in 2019. If you have never checked this setting then this is the time to do so, because it might be harmful to your privacy.

Has WhatsApp Changed Its Group Settings

The WhatsApp group setting isn’t a new update rather WhatsApp announced it back in 2019. WhatsApp has already discussed the settings in one of their blog post from 2019. It reads:

“WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, coworkers, classmates, and more. As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience. Today, we’re introducing a new privacy setting and invite system to help you decide who can add you to groups.”

So, it proves that it is neither a scam nor a recent update. It is just that people have discovered it now. If you haven’t changed the setting till now, then you have three options to select from. You can set the group privacy settings to Everyone, My Contacts, My Contacts Except. By keeping it to “My Contacts” you will have more control over your privacy and you will not be added to useless groups.

Also read about 5 Billionth Search Scam

Final Thoughts

After probing on various platforms, we have come to the conclusion that, this isn’t a scam at all. This is just a setting update that was made in 2019 and WhatsApp also has discussed it with the users.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.